Finance Seminars

Finance Group

Finance Seminars (PhDBA 239S)

Spring 2016

Updated: April 25, 2016

The seminars are scheduled every Thursday from 11:10 am-12:30 pm in room C220 Cheit Hall. These seminars are free and are open to the public.

Faculty Coordinator, Spring 2016 Seminars:  Professor David Sraer

January 21 Thursday

TBD

January 28 Thursday

TBD

February 4 Thursday

No Seminar

February 11 Thursday

TBD

February 18 Thursday

No Seminar

February 25 Thursday

Samuel Hartzmark (University of Chicago)
Rolling Mental Accounts (w. Cary Frydman, USC, and David Solomon, USC) (pdf)

March 3 Thursday

Adriano A. Rampini (Duke, NBER, and CEPR)
Financing Durable Assets (pdf)

March 10 Thursday

Christian Heyerdahl-Larsen (LBS)
Asset Prices and Portfolio Choice with Learning from Experience (w. Paul Ehling-BI and Alessandro Graniero-LBS) (pdf)

March 17 Thursday

Jose-Luis Peydro (ICREA-Universitat Pompeu Fabra, CREI, Barcelona GSE)
Monetary Policy Limits: Security and Credit Application Registers’ Evidence (w. Andrea Polo and Enrico Sette) (pdf)

March 24 Thursday


Spring Break-No Seminar

March 30 WEDNESDAY

Joint Stanford-Berkeley Finance Seminar at Stanford
1:30-5:20 pm, Patterson Building (Room P102)

1:30-2:20 pm Adair Morse, Berkeley, Asset Manager Funds (w. Joseph Gerakos and Juhani T. Linnainmaa) (pdf)

2:20-3:10 pm Hanno Lustig, Stanford, Are Stocks Real Assets? Sticky Discount Rates in Stock Markets (w. Michael Katz and Lars Nielsen) (pdf)

3:10-3:40 pm Coffee Break

3:40-4:30 pm Brett Green, Berkeley, Breakthroughs, Deadlines, and Self-Reported Progress: Contracting for Multistage Projects (w. Curtis R. Taylor) (pdf)

4:30-5:20 pm Victoria Vanasco, Stanford, Asset Pricing with Experience Effects (w. Ulrike Malmendier and Demian Pouzo) (pdf)

April 7 Thursday

No Seminar - Spring NBER date

April 14 Thursday

Motohiro Yogo (Princeton)
An Equillibrium Model of Institutional Demand and Asset Prices (w. Ralph S. J. Koijen-LBS) (paper link)

April 21 Thursday

Martin Schmalz (Univerisity of Michigan)
Anti-Competitive Effects of Common Ownership (w. J. Azar and I. Tecu-CRA) (paper link)

April 28 Thursday

Svetlana Bryzgalova (Stanford)
The Consumption Risk of Bonds and Stocks (w. Christian Julliard-LSE) (pdf)

May 5 Thursday

Toni Whited (University of Michigan)
Labor and Capital Dynamics under Financing Frictions

May 12 Thursday

Harald Hau (University of Geneva, Swiss Finance Institute)
Can Higher Minimum Wages Accelerate Productivity Growth? (w. Yi Huang and Gewei Wang)

For more information about the Finance Seminars, please contact Jaime Hauk at (510) 642-1499 or e-mail her at: jaimehauk@haas.berkeley.edu