In Memoriam

Longtime Haas Volunteer William Ledeen, MBA 86

Longtime Haas Volunteer William Ledeen, MBA 86

William (Bill) Ledeen, MBA 86, chairman of the board of Digital Dynamics and a longtime Berkeley Haas volunteer, passed away from cancer on July 21. He was 60.

Ledeen earned a bachelor’s and master’s degree from Stanford in mechanical engineering but was devoted to Berkeley, serving in numerous volunteer roles since earning his MBA in 1986. He helped form the South Bay Chapter (now known as the Silicon Valley Chapter) and served in a variety of leadership positions, including president, secretary, treasurer, and membership chair, for this all-volunteer organization for nearly 30 years. The group won the Chapter of the Year award many times under his leadership.

Ledeen proudly served as his class reunion chair and on boards for the Berkeley Haas Alumni Network, including a stint as president from 2002 to 2003. He was also an active officer on the Cal Alumni Association’s Rossmoor Club, serving as executive vice president at the time of his death.

Ledeen was such a consummate volunteer that he is the only alum to twice win Haas’ highest volunteer leadership award, the Raymond E. Miles Alumni Service Award, in 1995 and 2002. Just before his death, he was awarded Berkeley’s Trustees’ Citation for demonstrating extraordinary service to the university’s outreach goals.

Much of his career focused on marketing in the industrial sector; he specialized in product definition, competitive positioning, and pricing analytics and execution for high-tech business-to-business products. He was issued a patent for his invention of a throttling ball valve. Ledeen is survived by two sisters, Linda Schwartz of Pasadena, Calif., and Kathy DeLiema of Mission Viejo, Calif.

Warren Mangels, BS 46
Bruce Elliott, BS 47
Richard Drewes, BS 49
Donald Sherman, BS 49
George Millar, BS 50
Kenneth Purchase, BS 50
Martha Thorup, BS 50
Richard Iwata, BS 51
Robert Murray, BS 51
Stanley Aoyagi, BS 53
Hayami Fujii, BS 53
Victor Emmerich, BS 55
Leland Shoptaugh, BS 57
Graham Gibbons, BS 58
Clifford Ceridono, BS 59
Everett Merriman, BS 60
John Waldichuk, BS 61
George Holmes, BS 66
Christopher Woodward, BS 71, MBA 76
Judith Walo, MBA 71
Teresa Gallagher, BS 76
William Ledeen, MBA 86
Jason Kruska, MBA 02

[Back to top]