Moving Tribute

Haas Worldwide Events

Moving Tribute

Haas' legendary rock-star dean honored with top Berkeley award

In a surprise announcement at the Alumni Conference in April, Dean Rich Lyons, BS 82, was awarded the Berkeley Citation, among the highest honors the campus bestows on an individual in our community. Chancellor Carol Christ, who opened the conference with a joint keynote with Lyons about culture and leadership styles, paused to bestow the award, given to Lyons for his distinguished achievements and notable service to the university. The dean was visibly moved by the honor, as 600+ alumni gave a standing ovation.

Haas colleagues nominated the dean with letters that cited his caring support for staff, active team approach with students, and legendary musical talents. The award citation noted Lyons' work instilling a new kind of business school culture with a set of core leadership principles and a larger sense of purpose.

True to his rock-star style, Lyons ended the keynote with a rendition of Green Day's "Time of Your Life" on his acoustic guitar.

SF Chapter's Dog Shelter Volunteer Day

Kallista Stephenson, MBA 17; Daniela Trulls; Victoria Chen, BS 13

Volunteer Leadership Conference

New England leaders Marina Liang, BS 14, and Dan Parker, MBA 11

NYC leaders Pooja Sakesena, MFE 06; Alex Pederson, MBA 12; and Judy Chou, BS 96

Monica Wiese, MBA/MPH 05, and Richard Wilson, EMBA 15

Haas Celebration in Silicon Valley

Eduardo Buenviaje and Ricky Cornejo, EMBA 18s

Lori Benintendi, MBA 92; Julie Brown, MBA/MPH 85;and Neal Johnson, EMBA 18

Ace Patterson, MBA 16, and Rajat Gulati, MBA 16

Haas Celebration in SF

Julia Wyckoff, MBA 91

Mark Breitbard, MBA 97; Dean Rich Lyons, BS 82; and John Byrne

Chou Hall Dedication

Kevin Chou, BS 02

Ned Spieker, BS 66, and UC President Janet Napolitano

Project Manager Walter Hallanan, BS 72

Dean's Tour, London & NYC

Paul Callaghan, MBA 81; Ali Hasan Butt, MBA 09; Hannah Gandevia; and Dean Rich Lyons, BS 82

Kenny Vaughn, MBA 16, and Seneca Vaughn

Sunil Arora, BS 04; Bryon Crowder, MBA 99; Jay Bharadwa, BS 04; and Margo Alexander, BS 68

MBA Reunions & Alumni Conference

Nick McFarland and Theresa Finn Talany, MBA 08s

Mei-Hsia Tan, Carlos Dieguez, and Anke Thiele, MBA 98s

Michelle Buckles, MBA 93

Bonnie Sherman, Julie Lee, Sherry Lin, and Michael Sherman, MBA 03s

Dean's Speaker Series

Ian Lee, MBA 10, executive in residence, IDEO

Michael Mikel, founding board member, Burning Man Project

Mellody Hobson, president, Ariel Investments

Jonathan Haidt, prof., NYU Stern

John Riccitiello, BS 81, chairman & CEO, Unity Technologies

[Back to top]