Berkeley Haas

About Haas

Business Leader of the Year & Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

The Haas School's Business Leader of the Year Award (known as the Alumnus of the Year Award from 1970 to 1998) or the Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually to one or more graduates or notable business leaders achieving prominence in his or her field. Awardees are selected for their career accomplishments, their dedication to and involvement with the school, and for their stature as role models for alumni and students. These individuals have shown unfailing support and enthusiasm for the Haas School, including their involvement as advisors, speakers, and donors.



Ikujiro Nonaka, MBA 68, PhD 72Ikujiro Nonaka, MBA 68, PhD 72

Professor Emeritus, Hitotsubashi University

Lifetime Achievement Award winner recognized for being a pioneer in the field of knowledge management and for transforming how people drive innovation together.




Susan and Steve Chamberlin Susan Chamberlin, MBA 87
Stephen Chamberlin

Philanthropists, Chamberlin Family Foundation

Honored for their efforts bettering the lives of others and for redesigning the world of public education.



Joseph Jimenez, MBA 84Joseph Jimenez, MBA 84

CEO, Novartis AG

Recognized for questioning the status quo at Novartis to re-envision the pharmaceutical industry, positioning the company to anticipate future health care trends and to make momentous strides against various forms of cancer.




Stuart BernsteinStuart Bernstein, BS 86

Managing Director and Partner, Goldman, Sachs & Co.
Global Head, Clean Technology and Renewables and Venture Capital Coverage Groups
Advisory Board Member: Haas School of Business, Berkeley Energy & Climate Institute

Recognized for questioning the status quo throughout his successful career at Goldman Sachs, ultimately shaking up investment banking with his passion for clean energy and the environment, as well as for his impact on Berkeley and Haas.




Douglas E. GoldmanDouglas E. Goldman, MD, BA 74

Chairman and Founder, Certain, Inc.
Advisory Board Member: Haas School of Business, Goldman School of Public Policy, and UC Berkeley Athletics Director
Trustee, UC Berkeley Foundation

Honored for his successful business career, philanthropy, and commitment to the University and the Haas School of Business.




Janet L. YellenJanet L. Yellen

Vice Chair, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Former President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Professor Emerita, Haas School of Business

In recognition for her outstanding business leadership and support of the Haas School of Business and the University of California, Berkeley.




Bob O'DonnellBob O'Donnell, BS 65, MBA 66

Retired Sr. VP and Director
Capital Research and Management Company

In recognition of his tireless commitment to public education at all levels; the enormous impact he has had at Berkeley and Haas; and his successful leadership role in the mutual fund industry.



Warren HellmanWarren Hellman, BA 55

Founder, Hellman & Friedman LLC
Banjo Player and Songwriter

Lifetime Achievement Award winner in recognition of his countless accomplishments in business and generous philanthropic efforts.



Richard Blum Richard Blum, BS 58, MBA 59

Chairman, Blum Capital Partners
Founder & Chairman, American Himalayan Foundation
Founder, Richard C. Blum Center for Developing Economies


Lifetime Achievement Award winner named for the enduring support, exceptional service, and strong leadership that he has shown to the Haas School and UC Berkeley.



Shantanu Narayen, MBA 93Shantanu Narayen, MBA 93

President and CEO
Adobe Systems Inc.
San Jose, California

Named for executing a vision that spurs financial prosperity, fosters employee development, and fulfills its responsibility to the community.



Barbara Desoer, MBA 77Barbara Desoer, MBA 77

Chief Technology & Operations Officer
Bank of America
Raleigh, North Carolina


Named for her vision and for her leadership at Bank of America.



Paul Otellini, MBA 74Paul Otellini, MBA 74

President and CEO
Intel Corporation
Santa Clara, California

Named for his innovative new strategies at Intel, his ability to lead and to inspire a global workforce, and for his unwavering commitment to conducting business with integrity.



Barclay Simpson, BS 66Barclay Simpson, BS 66

Founder and Chairman
Simpson Manufacturing Co. Inc.
Dublin, California

In recognition of his commitment to entrepreneurial success and his outstanding leadership in giving back to his community.



A.W. "Tom" Clausen, MBA 77A.W. "Tom" Clausen, MBA 77

Former Bank of America and World Bank Chief


Lifetime Achievement Award winner in recognition of his private- and public-sector leadership in domestic economic affairs and the global economy.



Howard Lester, MBA 77Howard Lester, MBA 77

Chairman and former CEO
San Francisco, California


Named for his outstanding contributions to the retail business and the school.



Arun Sarin, MBA 78Arun Sarin, MBA 78

Former CEO
Vodafone Group Plc
London, United Kingdom


Named for his outstanding contributions to the business of telecommunications and to the school.



Peter E. Haas, Sr., BA 40

Director & CEO Levi Strauss & Co.

San Francisco, California


Received the Haas School's highest honors — the 2001 Business Leader of the Year and Lifetime Achievement awards — for his lifetime of leadership in business and social responsibility.



Stephanie G. DiMarco, BS 79

CEO & Chairman

Advent Software



Thomas Schneider, BA 58, MBA 62

Executive VP

Morgan Stanley Dean Witter & Co.



Warren "Ned" Spieker, BS 66Warren "Ned" Spieker, BS 66

Former Chairman & CEO
Spieker Properties, Inc.
Menlo Park, California






Richard A. Clarke, BA 52, JD 55

Former Chairman & CEO
Pacific Gas & Electric



Thomas W. Tusher, BA 63Thomas W. Tusher, BA 63

President & COO
Levi Strauss & Co.
San Francisco, California






Paul M. Hazen, MBA 64

Chairman & CEO
Wells Fargo Bank



Richard C. Blum, BS 58, MBA 59

Managing Partner

Richard C. Blum & Associates


Lifetime Achievement Award

Eugene Trefethen

Former President

Kaiser Industries Corporation



William F. Cronk, BS 65

President & Director

Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream, Inc.



Paul H. Stephens, BS 67, MBA 69Paul H. Stephens, BS 67, MBA 69

General Partner

Robertson, Stephens & Co.




Gerson P. Bakar, BS 48Gerson P. Bakar, BS 48


Gerson Bakar & Associates




Clarence W. Houghton, BS 60

Retired Partner

Deloitte, Haskins & Sells



W. Michael Blumenthal, BS 51W. Michael Blumenthal, BS 51

Chairman & CEO

Unisys Corporation




Theodore J. Saenger, BS 51

Former President & CEO

Pacific Bell



Donald G. Fisher, BS 50Donald G. Fisher, BS 50

Chairman & CEO

The GAP, Inc.




Steven V. White, BS 51


Bechtel Investments, Inc.



Leo B. Helzel, MBA 68Leo B. Helzel, MBA 68


Jacob, Sills & Coblentz




Robert A. Lutz, BS 61, MBA 62

Executive VP

Ford International Automotive



James R. Harvey, BS 56, MBA 63

Chairman, President & CEO

Transamerica Corporation



William Burns, Sr.


Haas School of Business

University of California Berkeley



E.T. Grether, MA 23, PhD 24

Former Dean & Professor Emeritus

Haas School of Business

University of California Berkeley



Michael N. Chetkovich, BS 39, MBA 40

Managing Partner

Deloitte, Haskins & Sells



Daniel E. Koshland

Levi Strauss & Co.

San Francisco, California



William M. Witter

Honorary Chairman

Dean Witter & Co.



Stephen D. Bechtel, Sr.

Sr. Director

Bechtel Group, Inc.