Haas Newsroom

September 5, 2012


twitter Find Haas' top business experts. Follow us @Haas4Media

Jim Spitze
Executive Director
Fisher CIO Leadership Program
The Evolving Role of CIOs in Organizations:
Top Chief Information Officers to Gather at UC Berkeley


Presentation of the first annual Fisher-Hopper Prize for Lifetime Achievement in CIO Leadership Award


The world's most visionary chief information officers will come together at the University of California, Berkeley’s Haas School of Business to share ideas and insights about the future of their important roles in organizations. The gathering will include members of the "Renaissance CIOs" – the 14 CIOs identified by renowned CIO Max Hopper who led the development of the Sabre computerized travel-reservation system that transformed the airline industry – as the most influential CIOs of their time.


Companies represented include Cisco, Charles Schwab, Chemical Bank, City of Cleveland, Fannie Mae, FritoLay, Marriott Int'l, Merrill-Lynch, WalMart AT&T, Flextronics, The Gap, Proctor & Gamble, and UPS.


Co-sponsored by the Haas School’s Fisher CIO Leadership Program and Gartner Inc., the world's leading information technology research and advisory company, the day will culminate with a celebratory banquet to announce the winner of the first annual Fisher-Hopper Prize for Lifetime Achievement in CIO Leadership. The award will be bestowed in memory of Berkeley Haas alumnus and founder of Gap Inc. Don Fisher and Max Hopper.


For more information: http://fisheritcenter.haas.berkeley.edu/award.html



Friday, September 14, 2012
1-5 p.m. Speakers and panel discussions | 6 p.m. Cocktails & Networking | 7-9 p.m. Award Banquet



Afternoon Speakers: Wells Fargo Room, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley
Evening Events: Horizon Room, The Claremont Hotel, 41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705



Panel speakers:
Mark McDonald, Gartner Inc. group vice president, Gartner Fellow
Bob Johansen, Institute for the Future forecaster and social scientist 
Felix Thaddeus Arroyo, AT&T CIO
Dawn Lepore, former Charles Schwab CIO
Dave Smoley, Flextronics senior vice-president and CIO
Charlie Feld, former FritoLay CIO
Graham Waller, Gartner Executive Programs vice-president



CIO Finalists for the Fisher-Hopper Lifetime Achievement Award:
Felix Thaddeus Arroyo, AT&T
Filippo Passerini, Proctor & Gamble
Dave Smoley, Flextronics
Dave Barnes, UPS